7.30pm Thursday, 19th April 2018
Tickets £17, MMS members £12

The Heath Quartet with Guy Johnston
Hear the sublime Schubert Cello Quintet

Heath QuartetGuy Johnston

Oliver Heath violin
Sara Wolstenholme violin
Gary Pomeroy viola
Chris Murray cello

Guy Johnston cello

Haydn String Quartet op. 71 no. 2
Tchaikovsky String Quartet No. 1 in D major opus 11
Schubert Cello Quintet D.956 Op posth 163

The Heath Quartet have established themselves among the foremost string quartets in the UK, regularly appearing in venues such as the Wigmore Hall and on Radio 3, as well as in major venues around the world.

BBC Young Musician in 2000, Guy Johnston is one of the most exciting and versatile British cellists of his generation and performs widely in chamber ensembles.

The Schubert Cello Quintet has been described as 'sublime' and having 'bottomless pathos'.  Many regard this last chamber work of Schubert's as his finest and one of the greatest pieces in all chamber music.