18th February 2016
Tickets £15, MMS members £10

David Waterman - Cello
Mishka Momen - Piano
A chance to hear the cellist from the Endellion Quartet in solo items with a young virtuoso pianist

Photo of Marcus Farnsworth by Benjamin ealovega

Beethoven: Variations for cello and piano
Fantasiestucke op 73
Ballade no 3 op 47
Waldesruhe op 68
Aria from Organ Pastorale BWV590
Cello sonata no 1 in E minor op 38

David Waterman

Picture of David WatermanDavid was born into a musical family in Leeds and discovered the cello at the age of nine. Determined not to play music professionally, he studied philosophy for six years at Trinity College, Cambridge, became a Research Scholar, was awarded MA and PhD degrees, and ended up as a tutor to philosophy undergraduates. He studied cello privately with Martin Lovett, William Pleeth and Jane Cowan, and immersed hiself in quartet-playing "for fun".

He loves to teaches both cello and chamber music and has taught at the Yehudi Menuhin School, the Royal Northern College of Music, the Royal Academy of Music, the Guildhall, and the Menuhin Academy at Gstaad. For ten years he was co-director with Joyce Rathbone of the Rathbone-Dickson course at Westonbirt, and coaches chamber music for ChamberStudio at King's Place, London.

he sometimes participate as an individual in chamber music festivals such as in Wigmore Hall London, Oxford, Sheffield, Belgium, Mumbai, and others.

Mishka Rushdie Momen

Picture of Mishka Momen"Mishka Rushdie Momen plays the piano extraordinarily well, but it is the purity and depth of her musical feeling that impress me most. She has the rare ability to communicate the essential meaning of whatever she plays."
Richard Goode

Mishka Rushdie Momen, born in London 1992, studied with Joan Havill and Imogen Cooper at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama and has also periodically studied with Alfred Brendel and Richard Goode. She has twice been invited by Andreas Schiff to participate in his summer class in Gstaad as part of the Menuhin Festival.

In November 2014 Mishka was unanimously voted the 1st Prize winner of the Dudley International Piano Competition and performed Bartok 3rd Concerto with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra conducted by Michael Seal at Symphony Hall, Birmingham. In September the same year Mishka won 2nd Prize at the Cologne International Piano Competition and most recently she was a prizewinner at the Dublin International Piano Competition 2015. She was awarded the Prix Maurice Ravel at the 2013 Acadamie Ravel in St. Jean-de-Luz, France where she returned to give three concerts at the Ravel Festival last Spring. Previously she was selected for the Tillett Trust Young Artist Platform Scheme 2012-2013 and other prizes include the Kenneth Loveland Gift and First Prize in the Norah Sande Award 2012, First Prize in Piano at the Tunbridge Wells International Young Concert Artists Competition 2010, the Chopin Prize at the EU Piano competition 2009, Prague, and at the age of 13 she won 1st Prize in the Leschetizky Concerto Competition, New York.

Mishka is grateful for support from the Countess of Munster Musical Trust, the Hope Hambourg Trust and the Worshipful Company of Drapers.